Somalia’s int’l partners hail election of parliament leadership, call completion of electoral process


The diplomatic community in Somalia hailed the recent election of the new parliament leadership that took place in Mogadishu on Thursday.

Sheikh Adan Mohamed Nur (Madobe) has been elected as the new Speaker of Parliament on early on Thursday following a delayed process which even saw security threats posed by forces loyal to the incumbent Mohamed Abdullahi Farmaajo.  An opposition female, Sadia Yasin Samatar, has been also elected as the deputy speaker of the parliament making her the first women to assume the highest position in the countries legislative house.

“We welcome the successful elections for leadership positions in the Upper House on 26 April 2022 and the House of the People on 27-28 April 2022.  We congratulate the newly elected Speakers and Deputy Speakers as they assume their important responsibilities at this critical moment for Somalia,” said a statement released by the members of the international partners in Somalia.

The diplomatic community which consists of: African Union Transition Mission in Somalia (ATMIS), Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, European Union (EU), Finland, France, Germany, Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), Ireland, Italy, Kenya, League of Arab States (LAS), Norway, Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States and United Nations.

After the protracted delays and obstacles in choosing the members of parliament, they said, the election of the parliamentary leadership “is a major achievement”.

“We appreciate the efforts of all Somalis who contributed to completion of these parliamentary votes.”


The foreign diplomats further urge that election of the President now be completed promptly, peacefully, and credibly, so that Somalia’s elected leaders can address national priorities for the benefit of all its citizens.